Tuesday, 23 October 2012

How to Backup and Delete your iPhone Files

Are you planning to sell or trade-in your iPhone unit? Before you do so, make sure that all personal data you have on it are deleted and removed. Follow the steps below on how to delete data and settings on your iPhone so that no one can access your personal files such as emails, text messages, phonebooks, etc.

Step 1: Back your files up

It is important that you make a backup of your files so that you can have them restored later on your new mobile unit. You can backup your data on your desktop PC or via Apple’s iCloud service, depending on your phone’s iOS and sync preferences.

Backing up via iCloud. With iPhones running on iOS 5 or higher, automatic daily backups are done by the iCloud service. However, just to make sure that you have the latest data saved, you can manually run the backup process yourself. Here’s how to do it:

• Connect to a Wi-Fi network
• Launch the Settings app on your iPhone
• Go to iCloud > Storage & Backup
• Tap on the “Back Up Now” button and wait for the backup process to complete


Backing up on your computer. If you want to have a local copy of your iPhone data, you can back the files up on your computer via the iTunes service. Here’s how to do it:

• Connect and sync your iPhone to your desktop PC
• Open the iTunes program. Under the “Devices” list, on the left-hand navigation pane on your screen, select your iPhone device
• Right click on your device and select “Back up”


Step 2: Delete your iPhone files and settings

Now that you’ve successfully backup your data, you can then proceed on deleting the files and settings on your mobile device. Here’s how to do it:

• Launch the Settings app on your iPhone
• Tap on “General”
• Scroll down to the bottom of the screen and tap on the “Reset” button
• Select the option that says “Erase All Content and Settings”. If you’ve set a passcode, you will be prompted for it.
• After entering the passcode, you will be asked to confirm the delete process. Tap on the “Erase iPhone” button


Depending on the amount of data you have on your iPhone, the process may take between 10 minutes to an hour.

If your iPhone has been jailbroken then it is recommended that you delete your iPhone data and settings via your desktop PC. Just connect your iPhone to your computer and then click on the “Restore” button.

Step 3: Unregister your iPhone form Apple’s website

Make sure to also unlink your iPhone from your Apple ID. Here are the steps to do it:

• Log in to https://supportprofile.apple.com/MySupportProfile.do• Click on “Edit products” and then click on the “X” icon located at the right of the product
• Click “Unregister”


Before selling or trading-in your iPhone, you should also unlink it from other online services like Pandora, DropBox, etc.

Image by FreeDigitalPhotos.net

2 comments:

  1. Outstanding job - very interesting study I will come across further hooked on this! Keep it up. I found very good and relevant blog and have bookmarked your spot for prospect suggestions. BY - Web Solutions Services

    ReplyDelete
  2. Well, this is a very helpful post. Thanks for the information you provided. It would be great if got more post like this. Nice and wonderful pictures and comments as well. Thanks for sharing with all. BY - Web Solutions Services

    ReplyDelete